Singapore dominated this international literature prize so overwhelmingly that it was scrapped

Since the Angus Ross prize was first awarded in 1987, Singapore students have won every year except in 2000. Our literature students have outperformed their peers from other countries including New Zealand, Canada and the United States.

Therefore in 2010, Cambridge University began narrowing the search for the winner to the pool of Singapore candidates as the clear winners were always among Singapore candidates.

As this is unfair to students from other countries so Cambridge decided to stop giving out this prize.

In short, Singapore dominated the literature prize so overwhelmingly that the contest was scrapped.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.